KCFCA Purpose

We exist to influence, serve and support courageous leadership.

KCFCA Objectives

  1. To work to influence decisions that impact the goals of the Association
  2. To serve the professional needs and interests of organization members
  3. To support courageous leadership at all levels where such leadership is consistent with the goals of the Association

Goals and Objectives

  • Increase Fire Chief attendance and participation
  • Build on Elected Officials/Commissioner & Chief’s Association relationships
  • Explore and create a “Fire Chief” Peer Support Process
  • Formalize/expand joint purchasing opportunities
  • Create Leadership Training Opportunities
  • Increase diversity in the applicant pool.
  • Evaluate hiring process from testing to oral interview to selection.
  • Implement a Countywide Automatic Aid Agreement
  • Research and identify alternative revenue resources.
  • Improve and grow the SharePoint site

KCFCA Vision

We will be an effective voice that is strategic, valued and essential to our stakeholders.

Past Presidents

Term President Fire Agency
Current  Steve Heitman Mercer Island Fire Department
2017-2018  Harold Scoggins Seattle Fire Department 
2015-2017 Matt Cowan Shoreline Fire Department                         
2015 Mark Chubb Mountainview Fire & Rescue
2012-2014 Randy Krause Port of Seattle Fire Department
2010-2011 Lee Soptich Eastside Fire & Rescue
2008-2009 I. David Daniels Renton Fire Department
2007 Walt Mauldin Mercer Island Fire Department
2005-2006 Tim Lemon Maple Valley Fire & Rescue
2003-2004 Bud Backer Woodinville Fire & Life Safety
2001-2002 John Ryan Redmond Fire Department
2000 James Sewell Seattle Fire Department
1998-1999 Steve Smith Wooldinville Fire & Life Safety
1996-1997                              Greg Smith Mountainview Fire & Rescue
1995 Jim Davis Woodinville Fire & Life Safety
1994 Monroe Shropshire                Auburn Fire Department


KCFCA Board of Directors

Steve Heitman
Mercer Island Fire

Vice President

Matt Morris
Puget Sound Regional Fire Authority


Jeff Clark

Eastside Fire & Rescue

Zone 1 Representative

Bruce Kroon

Bothell Fire Department



Zone 3 Representative

Rick Marshall

Renton Regional Fire Authority


Past President / Zone 5 Representative

Harold Scoggins

Seattle Fire Department



Jamie Formisano
Eastside Fire & Rescue

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2019 by Washington Fire Chiefs